Wall of Wonder: Cornell Women Leading the Way in Science, Technology, and Engineering

  • Available now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and at your local bookstore through Bookshop.com


    In September 2019, only one of Forbes’ one hundred innovative leaders was a woman (“America’s Most Innovative Leaders”). Throughout history, women have been breaking boundaries in technology, but recognition has been few and far between. Lack of recognition has left young girls and aspiring women without role models, thus contributing to the gender gap in technical fields. Wall of Wonder celebrates Cornell University alumnae who have made significant impacts on society through science, technology, and engineering. These women are leaders in medicine, academia, government, and industry. In addition to showcasing the breadth of opportunities a technical education can offer, these women share stories of resilience, leadership, and ardor for all ages.

    As graduating seniors of Cornell University’s College of Engineering, we set out to commemorate Cornell alumnae who inspire us during our transition to impactful careers in technology. We are confident that these stories will continue to inspire us throughout our lives and, moreover, inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers.

    All net proceeds support the Cornell Society of Women Engineers' K-12 outreach initiatives to advance STEM education and inspire future leaders.

    The Authors

    Wall of Wonder was written and published by Madeline Dubelier (FY20 Cornell SWE Co-President), Catherine Gurecky (FY20 Cornell SWE Co-President), and Abigail Macaluso (Cornell SWE Member). All portraits were illustrated by David Ross Jansen.

      Featured Women (Cornell University Degrees)

      Prenthis Davis Aguilar (B.S. 1986)
      Rosemarie Aurigemma, Ph.D. (B.S. 1982)
      Andrea J. Berman, Ph.D. (B.S. 2001)
      Danielle (Vollmar) Breezy (B.S. 2006)
      Regina Clewlow, Ph.D. (B.S. 2001, M.Eng. 2002)
      Joanna Dai (B.S. 2008)
      Erica Fischer, Ph.D., P.E. (B.S. 2007)
      Jessica Baker Flechtner, Ph.D. (B.S. 1993, Ph.D. 2000)
      Malika Grayson, Ph.D. (M.S. 2014, Ph.D. 2016)
      Susan Hakkarainen, Ph.D. (B.S. 1982, M.Eng. 1983)
      Karen Havenstrite, Ph.D. (B.S. 2005)
      Priscilla Hung (M.Eng. 1989)
      Andrea Ippolito (B.S. 2006, M.Eng. 2007)
      Ann L. Lee, Ph.D. (B.S. 1983)
      Margaret Martonosi, Ph.D. (B.S. 1986)
      Iyore N. Olaye (B.S. 2016)
      Ana Pinczuk (B.S. 1984, M.Eng. 1985)
      Jeannette M. Pérez-Rosselló, M.D. (B.S. 1991)
      Yonn Rasmussen, Ph.D. (B.S. 1983, Ph.D. 1989)
      Danielle Regis (B.S. 2015, M.Eng. 2016)
      Hilary Lashley Renison (B.S. 2005, M.S. 2007, M.B.A. 2009)
      Sonya Sepahban (B.S. 1982)
      Jaclyn A. Spear (B.S. 1975)
      Elissa Sterry (B.S. 1979, M.Eng. 1980)
      Jill Cornell Tarter, Ph.D. (B.S. 1966)
      Carole Rapp Thompson (B.S. 1956)
      Portia Yarborough, Ph.D. (B.S. 1993)